2-factor authentication (2FA) is great for ensuring users logging into your site are the legitimate account owners.


But it’s a pain in the proverbial to use, sometimes. It just adds friction.


Now, with Shield Security, you can make it easier by using the "Remember Me" feature. You still get prompted for your 2FA codes, but not every single time.


2FA "Remember Me" feature can be found under the main section for the Login Guard module. (See the screenshot below)

How to enable 2FA "Remember Me" feature

To enable this feature, simply set the number of days that Shield will "remember" a successful 2FA login (i.e. 5 days).

Once the number is set, the user must select the checkbox at the time they’re confirming their 2FA:

Any user that logs in, and selects the option to "remember", will not need to enter 2FA code for that browser, for 5 days.


We highly recommend that users only check this box for computers and browsers that they “own” i.e. not in public or shared-use computers.


Note: If you want to disable this feature, set the value to zero, 0.


For more information on the "Remember Me" feature, read the article here


Note: 2FA "Remember Me" is a premium feature and only available to Pro subscribers. To find out what the extra features for Shield Pro are, read the article here.